School Committee

Westfield is a PK-12 community school district with an elected 7-member school committee with the mayor serving as chairperson by the virtue of holding that office. Each member serves on an elected basis for a 4-year term. The primary responsibility of the school committee is to formulate general policies reflecting the educational expectations of the community and adoption of the budget.

The school committee meets every first and third Monday at City Hall, 59 Court Street at 7:00 P.M. All of its meetings are televised and are open to the public, with the exception of executive sessions when legal or personnel matters are discussed.